Not signed in (Sign In or Register for the Forums)
  • Quick Jump


Welcome Guest!
Want to take part in these discussions? If you have an account, sign in now.
If you don't have an account, apply for one now.
    Spirit of Anne Frank Awards

    “I hope I will be able to confide everything to you, as I have never been able to confide in anyone, and I hope you will be a great source of comfort and support.”
    ­ Anne Frank, June 12, 1942
    The Anne Frank Center USA, a partner organization of the Anne Frank House, uses the diary and spirit of Anne Frank as unique tools to advance her legacy, to educate young people and communities about the consequences of intolerance, racism and discrimination, and to inspire the next generation to build a world based on mutual respect.
    The Spirit of Anne Frank Awards recognize worthy students, educators, and citizens­bridge builders, peacemakers, and role models­who participate in social and humanitarian programming to engender understanding, equality, and mutual respect among diverse groups.
    Honorary Gala Chairs
    Ina and Jaap Polak
    Officer, Order of Orange Nassau Honorary Guests
    Diane Baker Millie Perkins
    Actors from the original cast of
    the film “The Diary of Anne Frank”
    Honorary Dinner Chairs
    Jim Gianopulos
    Chairman & CEO
    Fox Filmed Entertainment Tom Rothman
    Chairman & CEO
    Fox Filmed Entertainment Mike Dunn
    President, 20th Century Fox Home Entertainment Worldwide
    invite you to the thirteenth annual

    monday, june 15, 2009

    6:00 pm Cocktail Reception and Silent Auction
    7:30 pm Dinner and Award Ceremony
    The Pierre Hotel
    Entrance at 2 East 61st Street (between Fifth and Madison avenues)
    New York City

    Special appearance by Robert Osborne
    Tovah Feldshuh will be performing a monologue from "Irena's Vow"
    The Jazz Museum in Harlem All-Stars
    Master of Ceremonies David Hammelburg
    Black tie optional


    Anne Frank Distinguished Advocate Award
    George Stevens, Jr.

    Anne Frank Outstanding Scholarship Award
    Sejal Hathi

    Anne Frank Outstanding Student Award
    Tara Suri

    Anne Frank Outstanding Educator Awards
    Richard B. Jones & Timothy J. Salem
    Jesse Schmitt

    Anne Frank Outstanding Citizen Award
    Ellen J. Kennedy, Ph.D.

    Board of Trustees

    Paul D. Kaplan
    Co-Chairman of the Board
    Stephen F. Stander
    Co-Chairman of the Board
    William B. Bram
    Deborah Chapin
    Jonathan L. Cohen
    Steven M. Farber
    Madi Ferencz
    Hon. Samuel G. Fredman
    Raymond Haas Treasurer
    Peter Kaufmann
    Alexander Mauskop, M.D.
    Anthony G. Polak
    Jack Polak Chairman Emeritus
    Sybil Rosenberg
    Jonathan Rothschild
    Michiel Schuit
    Yvonne Simons Executive Director

    Stephen A. Cohen Legal Counsel

    Advisory Board

    Sylvia Blake, Ed.D.
    Hyman A. Enzer
    Steven Frank
    David Hammelburg
    Shabtay Levy
    Marjorie Morris
    William L. Shulman, Ed.D.
    Zelda Silberman
    Danielle Steel
    Johannes van de Pol
    Heico Wesselius
    Rolf Wolfswinkel, Ph.D.
    Sylvia Wygoda
    Thomas Hans Wysmuller
    Honorary Board
    H.E. Ambassador Bob Hiensch
    Ambassador of The Netherlands to India, Nepal and Bhutan
    The Honorable Hugo Gajus Scheltema
    Consul General of The Netherlands in New York

    The Spirit of Anne Frank Awards supporters include*

    gold sponsors
    Equity Interest, Inc. Margrit Polak Management, Inc.
    Maxim Group LLC Post, Polak, Goodsell, MacNeill & Strauchler, P.A.

    silver sponsors
    The Biography Channel Mr. & Mrs. Edmond Farber
    The Leah and Edward M. Frankel Support Foundation
    Hanni & Peter Kaufmann Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment

    bronze sponsors
    The Alexander Bodini Foundation The Glickenhaus Foundation
    Dr. Alexander & Karen Mauskop
    Rita & Jacob Salzman The Tianaderrah Foundation

    product and auction donors
    Amy Ernst – courtesy of Flomenhaft Gallery, Armelglass, Artist Michael Knigin – donated by Parthenon Framing, B&B Italia, Bradford Renaissance Portraits, Carolyn Sheehan, Claude Gallery Frames, Classic Kids Photography, The Echo Design Group, FaceStation, The French Culinary Institute, Ina & Jack Polak, Jaime Guerrero, Dr. Jane & Mr. William Bram, Jewelry Design by Alzerina, Kaia Peterka, Karen Fuchs Photography, King of Shaves, Random House, Robin Reich of Merrill Lynch, Sony Music Entertainment, Stefania de Kenessey, The Waldorf Astoria, Twentieth Century Fox Home Entertainment, Westchester Graduate Campus Long Island University

    honorary committee
    H.E. Daniele D. Bodini
    Ambassador, Permanent Representative of the Republic of San Marino to the United Nations

    Mia Farrow
    Actress and Human Rights Advocate

    Miep Gies
    Anne Frank’s friend and helper

    Ambassador and Mrs.
    William vanden Heuvel

    Mr. Willem Kok
    Former Prime Minister of The Netherlands, Minister of State

    H.E. Frank Majoor
    Ambassador, Permanent Representative of The Netherlands to the United Nations

    Congressman Jerrold Nadler

    Christine C. Quinn
    NYC Council Speaker

    Mr. Kenneth Roth
    Executive Director, Human Rights Watch

    The Honorable Hugo Gajus Scheltema
    Consul General of The Netherlands in New York

    NYS Assembly Speaker
    Sheldon Silver

    *as of April 9, 2009
    "Of all the many remarkable things about Anne Frank, I believe the most important is the fact of her survival – a survival contained between the covers of a small cloth-covered diary.” — George Stevens, Sr.

    38 Crosby Street, 5th Floor
    New York, NY 10013
    tel: 212 431 7993
    fax: 212 431 8375
    Photo credit © AFF/AFS
About| Privacy | TOS | Contact | Join NLBorrels 

Copyright 1999-2013 / / All Rights reserved. / Powered by Mosso, Vanilla, Lussumo, RSS2 & ATOM